Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences

Conferences conducted At PIMS

35th National Annual conference of Medical Physicist of India – AMPICON 2014

Conference Dates :

November 20-23, 2014

Patrons in Chief
Dr. Vijay Kelkar,
Chancellor, PIMS(DU) University
Shri. Balasaheb Vikhe Patil,
Managing Trustee, PMT
Shri. Rajendra Vikhe Patil,
Chief Executive, PMT

Dr. Shashank Dalvi
Vice Chancellor, PIMS(DU) University
Dr. D. S. Kulkarni,
Principal, RMC, Loni.
Conference Venue

Dr. Balasaheb Vikhe Patil Rural Medical College ,
Department of Radiotherapy & Oncology
Loni 413736 Tal:Rahata
Dist:Ahmednagar (Maharashtra)

Organising Chairman:
Dr. K. K. Singh

Organising Secretary :
Mahendra More
Organised By
Department of Radiotherapy & Oncology,
Pravara Medical Trust, Loni
Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences, Loni
Association of Medical Physicists of India - AMPI
Conference Secretariat
Department of Radiotherapy & Oncology
Pravara Medical Trust
Dist:Ahmednagar (Maharashtra State)
Tel: +91-2422-71316
Fax: +91-2422-73413
Sponsored By
Atomic Energy Regulatory Board – AERB, Mumbai
Indian Council of Medical Research
Trade Sponsorers
Varian Medical System, ELEKTA, Scan O Plan, IBA, RADIMAGE, POCL, BEBIG, BRAINLAB, PTW,Rosalina, Panacea, Siemens, Philips ,Kirloskar Technologies
Total Participants
560 delegates ( 17 Overseas )

Ampicon 2014 Inauguration Function
Conference Objectives

  1. Workshop on ‘Challenges in Small Field Dosimetry',
  2. To promote dialogue amongst government organisation, NGOs & manufacturers of LINAC and various dosimetry equipment providers for finding solutions to quality treatment to needy patients.
  3. To highlight opportunities for innovative approaches by medical physicists in reaching advanced technology to unreachable.
  4. Addressing key issues related to the theme of the conference

Ampicon 2014 Valedictory  Function

Executive Summary of the Conference

Department of Radiotherapy & Oncology, Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences PIMS-DU, Pravara Medical Trust (PMT) in association with Association of Medical Physicists of India - Western Chapter (AMPI - WC) organized 35th Annual Conference of Medical Physicists of India AMPICON 2014 from 20th - 23rd November 2014 at Dr. Balasaheb Vikhe Patil Rural Medical College (RMC), Loni, Maharashtra.

The Theme for the conference 'Advanced Technologies in Radiotherapy - Reach the Unreachable' is best suited as the advanced technologies are out of reach to rural and needy patients, authors discussed to bring out these hi end technologies to bring down these to needy patients. Pravara Medical Trust (PMT) who pioneered the concept of Agricultural Medicine & Rural Health in India, jointly hosted this conference in association with Association of Medical Physicists of India (AMPI) Western Chapter.

The conference deliberated on Advanced technologies in Radiotherapy, Radiobiology, Modern diagnostic techniques, improving dosimetry techniques, Proton & Heavy ion therapy, Brachytherapy, Molecular imaging, Radiation Protection, Regulatory aspects etc. A large number of posters were presented at the parallel thematic sessions of the conference. About 600 delegates participated in this conference including delegates from SAARC countries and other parts of the world. Eminent National and International speakers / Faculties delivered their lectures in different thematic sessions during this conference. The Trade stalls exhibition was arranged near the conference venue where sponsorer’s demonstrated various equipments.

The conference was inaugurated by Dr. P. B. Vidyasagar, Vice Chancellor, Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University, Nanded. Guest of honour was Dr. G. K. Rath Chief - IRCH, AIIMS, Delhi. Shri. Rajendra Vikhe Patil CEO, Pravara Medical Trust, welcomed all members to PIMS, Loni & presented the objectives of the conference. After the formal inauguration of the conference, keynote addresses were delivered by Dr. G. K. Rath and Dr. P.B. Vidyasagar. Shri Rajendra Vikhe Patil – CEO, Dr. M. G. Takwale, Dr. S. D. Dalvi, Dr. M. Ravikumar, Dr. D. S. Kulkarni were present during inauguration.

Dr. M.G.Takwale Former Vice Chancellor PIMS-DU & Shivaji University was the Chief Guest at the Valedictory Function held on 23rd Nov 2014. Various Scientific Awards of AMPI were presented with the hands of Chief Guest. Organising Secretary Mahendra More delivered vote of thanks

Ampicon 2014 Valedictory  Function